Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

225,000 miles too many for Head Gasket?

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2015, 11:52 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 225,000 miles too many for Head Gasket?

Hi Guys,

I am new to the honda game. I have a 97 civic d16y8 with 225,000 miles on the clock. The headgasket is going out on me and causing the car to over heat. Is that too many miles to change a head gasket? Will I need to have the heads machined, assmuming they must be warped with the milage. If I can change the head gasket is there anything else I should look out for besides warped heads? I use this car just to get me to and from work, so not looking to put too much money into it.

Thanks in advance for the advice!
Old 08-20-2015, 01:21 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: 225,000 miles too many for Head Gasket?

Head gasket at 225k I believe is normal with as old as these cars are. Shoot most Hondas I seen with bad head gaskets didn't even have 200k.

Def have the machine shop check out the head.

Depending on how hot you ran it, and how long it was ran. You might just check out of the machine shop Scott free.
Old 08-20-2015, 01:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by White_EG1
Head gasket at 225k I believe is normal with as old as these cars are. Shoot most Hondas I seen with bad head gaskets didn't even have 200k.
Can i replace it? I heard on milage that high the motor will not like being taken apart and being put back together
Old 08-20-2015, 01:27 PM
I never narc'd on nobody!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post