Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

2000 SI grinding sound no clue

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2011, 02:08 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 SI grinding sound no clue

So I was driving to work today and everything was fine til about half way there. I switched lanes and then I heard like a metal grinding sound coming from the drivers side. I stuck my head out the window to see if it was from the motor or underneath. I figured out it was coming from the brakes. It sounds like something resting on the rotor to me but I am not sure. I got off the exit and when I hit the brakes the sound stopped. When I let off the brakes it would come back. I got to work and just looked to see if my brake pads were low, they look almost brand new. I got off work and drove home and it was intermittant. I did notice that when I would turn the wheel sometimes it would go away. So I am not sure what it could be. I am not really good with brakes besides just changing the pads. The rotors are not rusty and no marks on them. I did notice that the shield thing that is behind the rotors looks a little bent but it is not touching them. Anyone have any ideas? I was going to take the wheel off friday and see if I can find anything rubbing but the fact that it is not all the time throws me off on what exactly to look for. Ideas on what I should look for? Remember to explain like I am an infant because I am when it comes to brakes lol
I was worried that I could be the hub or something like that and the wheel will fall off while im driving, is that possible even
Old 08-10-2011, 02:11 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 2000 SI grinding sound no clue

pull the wheels off and have a look , sometimes road debri/rocks ect etc can get lodged in there
Old 08-10-2011, 02:28 PM
Trial User

Sometimes the metal hardware that comes with new brake pads will brake and rub on the rotor?