Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

2000 CIVIC EX, Mini Swap From D16Y8 BLOCK to D16Y7 IACV CEL On, Wrong CPU? P2P OBD2b

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2013, 10:13 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 CIVIC EX, Mini Swap From D16Y8 BLOCK to D16Y7 IACV CEL On, Wrong CPU? P2P OBD2b

hey guys, i'm new to this thread and i have religiously googled and search buttoned everything i could. No one has the same problem as me and its kind of frustrating. Without this site, i wouldn't know 90% of what i know so heres my first shot at a proper post.

PLEASE, let me know if you know of a thread I can read. I've looked at over 200.
(Please keep in mind I'm NOT here to waste your time and I hope that I am not.)

Model: Honda Civic 2000 EX
Motor: D16Y8 Head with a D16Y7 Block (Previous was a D16Y8 Full)
ECU: P2P OBD2b
CEL Error: (Not sure what number)idle sensor on the throttle body (what my mechanic told me)

Ever since I had the mini-me motor swap, my car has been idling unusally high. RPMS flucuate between 1k-2k. My mechanic did something that made the idle steady at 1.5K (too high for my comfort and the engine kicks like crazy when shifting between gears, my guess is because the RPMs drop so heavily) I've also had this problem in my old car.

My mechanic did a CEL scan and found an error reading that the throttle body idle sensor is dead, but I have heard of multiple cases online (specifically with 2000 SI Cvicis) where the ECU was giving a false reading because of the motor swap. I do know the owner of the engine block i just got and his civic (98) was running perfectly fine withit it. Although, his ECU was tuned and chipped with a jumper harness.