Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

1992 SI Hatch RestoMod

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2015, 08:04 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 1992 SI Hatch RestoMod

Hey Guys,
My name is Jonathan and I am a Mechanical/Electrical Engineer in Florida. I have had a 2007 Candyglory red Honda RC46 for the last seven years, which I have been building continuously and it is my pride and joy (hence the user name).

I recently acquired a 92 Civic SI and I am in the process of bringing it back to its former glory. It was your typical ricer Civic (failed attempt at making it a fast n furious car, then sat in a garage for the last 3 years), with corny bright red Rota GT3's, slammed to the ground on a blown out Skunk2 suspension, no AC Belt or power steering pump (probably had a B series swap in it at one time, but now has the original D16z6 in it again, but with an automatic 94 Integra ECU) and looks to have had zero maintenance done for the last 10 years.

There was no Transmission torque mount bracket attached to the transmission, both torque mounts were totally blown out and the driver side engine mount was torn. All the exterior signal light bulbs and headlight HID's were blown and turn signal housings were missing. The paint is faded, the rear quarter panels and wheel wells, and a spot on the roof in between the windshield and antenna have some rust. The balljoints, bushings and CV/axles need replacing. The exhaust looks basically factory except the rear muffler is almost dragging on the ground and the catalytic converter has been deleted, so it isn't too loud but has a ricey rattling sound to it. It smoked a lot at idle and especially after 4000 rpms. It leaks a lot of oil. 207,000 miles, I am assuming most of which have been on the original d16z6 engine.

So far I have: