Honda Civic (2001 - 2005) Coupe / Sedan / Hybrid (Includes Acura EL)

Need Crash Course .. please

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2006, 10:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Crash Course .. please

Hi:

I am completely new to import tuning. Can anyone give me crash course? How to go about it? what are important components to upgrade? Torque vs HP? Best cars (but cheap) to tune. What does it mean "forged pistons"? what do they do? What good is a strut bar? how do dampers help? .. i know too many questions.. :-)

but any help will be appreciated.

Thanks
Old 09-27-2006, 11:48 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Tuning is USUALLY classified as a way to manage the engine. IE. Fuel/Air mixtures, spark and all that good stuff.

You seem to have a loootttt of questions about power for your car, and all i can really say is... Its gunna cost you WAY to much money to make an auto fast. If u are already tight for money, and thats the reason for sharing cars( as u said in ur last post) then you more than likely dont have enough $$$ to make your car quick keeping it auto.

Every component has its up's and downs to upgrading. Price is a common down factor, but others do exist. For a d17, i personally think there is NO good components to upgrade unless ur going turbo or nitrous.

As for the rest of the Em2 chassis, you can upgrade to strut bars ( see bottem of post) Dampers ( coilovers,springs,struts), sway bars, brake rotors, brake pads.

Forged pistons are a way of making the piston using the forging process. This makes metals a lot stronger than regular casting, as well as lighter. They are usually used for HIGH boost(turbo) applications, and will yeild MINIMAL gains to a Naturally aspirated car( no nitrous/turbo/supercharger)

A good strut bar for the upper front is the Neuspeed, a good one for the up rear is a megan, and a good one for the lower rear is Progress, DC, megan there are many others.

By dampers i believe you mean Suspension.