Notices
Honda Civic (2001 - 2005) Coupe / Sedan / Hybrid (Includes Acura EL)

Help sorting issues on new 2003 EX purchase (mainly locking system)

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2019, 07:17 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Help sorting issues on new 2003 EX purchase (mainly locking system)

Hello - new Civic EX (4dr, auto) purchase as a starter car for a teen step-son. I am an experienced DIY mechanic, but no honda cars before (Not strictly true, I have an Acura SLX I've had a long time, but it's not really a Honda...).

It is clean with minimal exterior issues (two dings, not terrible, needs to be clayed and waxed, but not bad at all), and it has had a lot of proper maintenance done (suspension, head gasket, no leaks), etc. 182k miles.

The main thing I have to fix is that the key doesn't turn in the driver's door. The central locking works otherwise from the inside, though the driver's **** is balky. I am guessing a vacuum modulator in that door? Is there a common fix here/this is common?

The airbag light is on, but I read that's common from a belt sensor. The airbag recall is open, so I'll take it to the dealership for that.

It would not rev over 5k when I first drove it, but no codes. I topped up the oil (it was slightly low), and that fixed it. It is, however, really anemic over ~5k, but I am guessing that is the nature of the beast? No intent to actually drive it there, just being thorough to make sure everything is 100% to start.

How much fluid does the AT take on a drain/fill? I will do 2x to start to make sure it has good fluid - it looks ok, and clearly has been service at some point(s) - and then single drain fills on a conservative schedule after that.

Thanks for any advice or pointers what to search for the lock issue.

Old 05-26-2019, 08:17 PM
Sanji

Received 35 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Re: Help sorting issues on new 2003 EX purchase (mainly locking system)