Notices
Honda Civic (2001 - 2005) Coupe / Sedan / Hybrid (Includes Acura EL)

02' Honda Civic LX 5-speed problems.

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2014, 04:25 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 02' Honda Civic LX 5-speed problems.

Hey guys, just a heads up, I am not a mechanic. I know a few things about cars but nothing extensive so bear with me, and a timely response would be much appreciated.

A couple of days ago my car was running perfectly fine. But here recently the temperatures outside have dropped to 16 degrees. Prior to the drop in temperature, the car was fine, and then today, all help broke lose for me. When I first tried to crank it, it made a terrible grinding noise, and it was not the started (I know the sound of that) It was much louder and more pronounced. After finally getting it started, I noticed that the sound it makes in idol was much different and my car would rattle and shake and the RPM's would rise and fall. I know that cold weather can cause issues on the initial start up but after the car heats to normal temperatures it should work fine, but for me it does not. What I find interesting, is that the lower my RPM, the worse it is and as I get them a little higher, it gets a little better. I usually shift at about 2300-2500 RPM. If I am below 2500, it spits and sputters really, really bad, and when I push on the clutch the engine stalls and dies. Also, my heat has stopped working. Prior to this morning it was working fine, unless I came to a complete stop and then it would begin to over heat and the heat would stop working, but now it does not even work at all, even when I put it on defrost and try to pull heat off of the engine.