Notices
Honda Civic (2001 - 2005) Coupe / Sedan / Hybrid (Includes Acura EL)

02 civic ex with vtec runs fair up to about 3k

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2013, 07:58 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 02 civic ex with vtec runs fair up to about 3k

Here is the shortened story of this car. I bought it over a year ago and it was wrecked in the front end. I spent the past year buying parts as money was avail and rebuilding it...which is what i did for a living for the first 20 years of my life so that part went smoothly and it now is back to pre accident condition. The previous owner had all the reciepts for it showing it had had a new tranny and timing belts and full servicing done by the honda dealer in the previous year or two and she was on the highway from out of state when the accident happened...so i would assume it was running ok at that point...but who knows i guess. Anyway, the car after being repaird which required a replacement of the main fuse block and air bags and computer for them...the car fired up and runs ok just sitting there, but when i first drove it i quickly saw it had low power once trying to get up to speed. It just fell on its face once up around 3k rpm and if you were on the throttle hard it was worse then if ya kinda snuck up on it. Sitting in park it sounds ok untill you floor it and then its sluggish speeding up, it seems to be trying to spit out the intake some and wont rev up right surging between 3 and 4k at which poit in acts like a rev limiter is coming in...with the air cleaner out its quiet loud with what sounds like as much exhaust noise coming out the intake as the muffler. I have checked all wiring and connectors, fuses, replaced air filter and inspected the air intake for any leaks or damage. yest i decided it must be the map sensor so replaced it. it still is doing the same thing. The dash is lit up like christmas..srs abs check engine and if ya run it up to where its surging and leave it there for more