Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

New to Honda

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2021, 01:06 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default New to Honda

Hello all,
I apologize if this is something that has been asked before. But, I've searched around. And, I can't find a good answer. I'm wondering if there are any other Honda models that I can use parts from for my 1997 Accord LX Coupe. I know how other Accords from the same gen work. But, what about pulling from say a similar year Civic or CR-V for something like suspension? I'm new to all of this, so I'm continuing to look. But, I thought I'd ask. Part of what got me thinking about this is a video I saw on YouTube. Mighty Car Mods is building a Civic. And, they are using calipers from a CR-V on it. It made me wonder what other parts might work in my application, in the event that my local pick and pull doesn't have any similar gen Accords to work with. Mahalo in advance.
Old 03-19-2021, 08:45 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 171 Likes on 162 Posts
Default Re: New to Honda

Generally, at least from my examination, nothing from a Civic crosses over, it's just a really different platform.

However, the main items I see crossing over and working in an Accord could be from

Acura CL (such as the seats)
CRV (such as the brakes)
Odyssey (such as interior pieces and brakes)
Prelude (seats I think)

But there is not a lot from an OEM transplant point of view. And, in general, and you can see there is not much in the way of performance cars being crossed with the accord, so you won't find much from that angle, and the aftermarket is not very large either as it's not a popular platform for racing of any kind. The civic, on the other hand, is like the pony car of the japanese car world, so anything you can think of has been done already and you can always find someone who has done it already, very very different environment and aftermarket along with community support.

Old 03-19-2021, 09:57 AM