Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

93 accord mpg upgrades.

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2019, 09:52 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 93 accord mpg upgrades.

Hey guys I'm kinda new to all this most I've done in the past is a streight pipe exhaust and a cheapo short ram intake. So I've been looking for all the possible upgrades to exhaust and air intake to increase my mpg and was told it's not to good of an idea to mix and match different brands. I don't want to spend a bunch of time looking for and ordering parts that end up not fitting together properly so I'd like to hear from all of you who have already done these mods and have a good experience and satisfied with what you've put on your own. I know mods that increase mpg go hand in hand with increased toque and horsepower but I'm not looking to make some suped up sleeper car with high dollar racing parts, I just want a decently priced setup that focuses on mpg increases and a little more power. I have a 1993 honda accord ex 2.2 Liter manual, everything is stock. I want to put in a good cold air intake, A 70 mm throttle body and spacer, exhaust manifold, straight pipe exhaust and muffler (all mandrel bent parts.) I heard hollowing out a catalytic converter or simply removing it all together will also increase mpg? I'm already leaning towards a complete flowmaster exhaust system but would like to hear your opinions before I open my wallet. Also i want to be able to talk on my phone without a headset and yelling so I don't want a load whining ricer exhaust system I preffer a throaty lower sounding setup. Anything is appreciated and am open to future mod suggestions as I plan on maintaining and keeping this car for the next 25 yrs or if I can then till the day I breathe my last breath.

Last edited by Cloud329; 07-25-2019 at 12:14 PM.
Old 07-22-2019, 07:39 PM
Premium Member

Received 164 Likes on 151 Posts
Default Re: 93 accord mpg upgrades.