Notices

Valve Adjustment Necessary when installing ARP studs?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2005, 12:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Valve Adjustment Necessary when installing ARP studs?

Hello Everyone,

I'm about to install a new timing belt, arp head studs, and a new headgasket to my teg before I turbocharge it today. Before i started, i read a lot of articles and i noticed that some people say to do a valve adjustment when doing these types of things. So this question goes out to people that have done this prep work before turbo. Is it necessary to do a valve adjustment or can i just leave them alone. The valves are stock and I've never modified them. Thanks.

Here is a picture. I know you guys like pictures.
Old 03-24-2005, 12:36 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Valve Adjustment Necessary when installing ARP studs? (CalGSR99)

Well I am no expert but what I think everyone meant is while you have everything opened up it would just make sense to do it that way you dont do double work opening the head again later.If you already knew this and just wanted to know whether or not you need to do it for the turbo the answer is no but once again it would just be nice to make sure everything is in good shape while its open.Hope this helps
Old 03-24-2005, 02:31 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Valve Adjustment Necessary when installing ARP studs? (CalGSR99)

umm you have to take the cams out to access the headbolts, so you have to do a valve adjustment no matter what. Assuming (from your user name) you have a B-series motor.
Old 03-24-2005, 04:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Valve Adjustment Necessary when installing ARP studs? (Blackack26)