Notices

Turbo Installed - White Smoke at Idle

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2016, 11:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbo Installed - White Smoke at Idle

Just installed a turbo on my b18b1 swapped 96' honda hatchback, the turbo is a straight T3 Garrett from a mustang SVO. This is my first attempt at boosting and I've done lots of research but still learning.

Anyway, I got everything bolted on and started up the car, within about 1 minute of idling there was a good amount of white smoke from the tailpipe. The turbo has no significant shaft play, but I'm still worried a seal could be blown.

My oil drain line is a little weird. I did my best to move the stainless line in a position where it wouldn't touch the DP or hot side IC pipe, but the routing is questionable. Any input is appreciated, pics below

Also, no restrictor is installed considering it is a journal turbo. Cold startup is about ~80 psi and warm idle is around ~12psi

Any help is more than appreciated, thank you

EDIT: Oil drain is -10AN and Oil Feed is -3AN w/ no restrictor

These pics were taken before the turbo was installed, the oil buildup didn't seem too excessive.

Last edited by FeelTheBass; 06-08-2016 at 12:08 AM.
Old 06-08-2016, 02:30 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 96 Likes on 86 Posts
Default Re: Turbo Installed - White Smoke at Idle

Theres a slope in the line.
Old 06-08-2016, 03:27 AM

Received 234 Likes on 209 Posts

Too much oil pressure at the oil feed line .

Just because it is journal bearing, doesn't mean it doesn't need a restrictor.

Turbine shaft doesn't look to healthy either.
Old 06-08-2016, 08:35 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Any recommendations for a restrictor size? Given the oil pressure above

Im going to shorten my oil drain line today and try to make it better, I'll update soon
Old 06-08-2016, 08:39 AM

Originally Posted by FeelTheBass
Any recommendations for a restrictor size? Given the oil pressure above