Notices

Turbo Honda + road racing = ???

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2005, 09:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbo Honda + road racing = ???

Hi guys ! this idea is in my mind for about a year now....

Im a racing driver in formula ford for about 3 years now. I won the championship last year and I finished first the last wekend. I also did 4 year in a shifter kart serie. Here is a pic of me last weekend with the sooo nice flag lol and some other car that I would compete with if I do my project :

I already have a 1995 Honda Civic coupe with a D16 Benson sleeved block and im thinking about to strip the interior add a roll cage and put my car on the track in a different serie. Of course I will need a complete suspension kit and some other goodies but I know all I need and I have the budget. I would sell my formula but I would keep the same sponsor. Here there is a class that all is permitted so I would race against some old turbo Porsche, Camaro, Type-R, Tiburon, BMW etc... there is a lot of car in the class and slicks are allowed in one of the class

Im running a SC50 but I would swap it for a GT28RS to get a better spoolin time and also a ball bearing turbo that could handle more heat from a long race...

but im worried about the reliability of a Turbo Honda for a 30min race.....

anyway here is my list of mods on my street car :

Turbo SC50 .63ar ( that I would swap for a GT28RS )
Lovefab sst + ceramic coated
Benson block
CP 9.1 pistons
Eagle rod
Crower spring and ti-retainer
Supertech .5mm os valves
Zex 59300 cam
ported head
Edelbrock IM + port match
Moroso pan
Msd SCI + blaster coil
Padawan power steering removal kit
Precision 680cc
Greddy IC
HKS ssqv
AEM EMS
Home made oil cooler
Tial 38 mm WG
3 inch exhaust and 3 inch DP + open dump just under the firewall
Magnaflow resonator

so do you think that its a realizable project or I would be better to build a B18C5 like everyone lol !

Thanks for the help... Im confused... and I like to be different !