Notices

Tell me why I shouldn't daily drive a turbo car.

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2009, 04:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tell me why I shouldn't daily drive a turbo car.

I'm on the brink, or at least i've been so for years, of just going at it and ordering all the parts to put a 300 crank hp setup together. I've had three integra's, and i've been slow in all but one of them. I'm sick of being slow, and as hard as I work as a student, I deserve a reward of finally putting together a turbo kit when this semester is over. I work as a tech and have the tools and equipment to make it happen as well. I'm talking lifts, tools, and capability. Thus, I should be able to piece a kit together.

My current setup is an 00 DC2 with gsr everything except the shortblock. It's a B16a. I'm still running the gsr cams, and when I put the motor together I installed another set of intake springs in the exhaust so I now have dual's on both sides of the valvetrain because I had the springs and figured it could only be a good thing. Whoooptie doo. However, I still have the stock PR3 pistons and had the head decked .008," so i'm dealing with approx. 10.75 to 1 c/r. I'm still running the stock 00 spec gsr tranmission as well. The motor itself is healthy from what I can tell. The B16a shortblock should be right at 75,000 to 80,000 miles.

We have a very reputable tuner here locally, and this guy has put out some wild turbo honda combo's before. He is (oh my bad, they are) factory trained for a handful of the leading engine management companies such as AEM, I think Motec as well, and they've all taken other engine management courses as well. So that's a plus.