Notices

some guidance for next turbo build

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2010, 06:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default some guidance for next turbo build

whats up guys, this is my first post on here. i am new to the whole honda turbo/motor stuff. however i am not knew to ls1's and ls1's with turbos. i own a single cab silverado with a front mount s465 turbo on it. somewere in the 600's with 14psi, i also have a ls2 z06 putting down alittle over 480 with stock ls3 heads and intake. lets get to the chase.

i am wanting to build a fun "toy" and show all these lsx's guys around here with 120-135mph cars thats honda's have potential. i am aware that you cannot match up a mph with an ET on a honda because of their 60's on the track. so basically i would like to build a 92 hatch back civic with some suspension,big slicks up front and a drivetrain that will hold up track dutys.

i want to trap 140mph+ in the 1/4 and run maybe some low 10's? not sure if this is doable.

now with the questions.

is there such thing as building a 140mph honda on a budget?

what kind of motor/turbo setup would you guys reccommend for me and what would the price tag look like as far as motor and turbo set up only?

here is what i had in mind:

b18,h22,k20

completely forged motor. rods,pistons,race bearings etc
stock cams
borg warner s300 series 25-30psi
jgs w/g and BOV
precision intercooled

which motor would you guys recommend out of the three? i want a motor that isnt super expensive to build but also make the power to do what i want to do or atleast get close to it.

Thanks in advance!
Old 09-14-2010, 10:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: some guidance for next turbo build

have you searched at all here on honda-tech theres a lot of threads allready with the same topics

as for reaching goals of 140+ 10ET is usually what we trap any ways ...

now what type of budget in mind do you have ?