Notices

Sohc Greddy turbo questions on my setup

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2002, 09:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sohc Greddy turbo questions on my setup

K well as this being my first post go easy on me pls. Im very very new to this turbo concept and like a fool I rushed into thing's way to fast. K well I have a turbo sohc coupe, I bought the turbo and engine from a kid I knew, Setup is as follows
td04 15g
greddy mani
greddy dp
Trust small fmic
apexi twin chamber bov
Mild port and polish
3 angle valve job
missing link
str cam gear
aem pulley
jg street grind cam
vortech rising rate fpr
b&m fpr
00 civic si ecu
stock exhaust
removed ac along with ps (need to remove aem pulley)
K well this is my problem. The car is fine no smoke or oil anywhere and idles around 700rpm (normal?) When I get on it boost starts to build around 2k-3k rpm's
but I dont reach full boost till 5,500 rpm's and it sucks especially since the only + of the small 15g is the spool up time, I know that the stock exhaust doesnt help but still i'm preety sure I should be reaching full boost alot sooner and I keep hearing people reaching full boost around 3k rpm with the 15g, I'm starting to think that it's the damn si ecu and the jg cam (to much overlap?) I know it's not the turbo cam so I'm preety sure it's only hurting performance. Also I forgot to add I dont have neither o2 sensor hooked up and my CEL is on constantly. Maybe it's runing in limp mode? I also forgot to add when the boost is about to kick in it pauses like a second and then boost, I dont know whats going on but Im sure I need some help so if you guy's would be kind enough to offer some advice pls do so. THXS
Old 04-19-2002, 09:36 AM

Default Re: Sohc Greddy turbo questions on my setup (TurboSohc)

personally, i'd get that o2 sensor back in and fix that CEL. work your way from there...