Notices

Planning out a setup to turbo my 98 GSR

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2006, 02:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Planning out a setup to turbo my 98 GSR

Ok, I'm new to FI, but I have been trying to do my research so I don't sound like a complete idiot here. I want to turbo my car this summer, it is a daily driver so I want it reliable. I have been debating wether or not to get a kit or custom setup. I've decided a custom setup will work fine for me. What I want is around 250whp on stock internals and boost about 7-8psi, from what I've read a stock B18c1 can handle that quite easily as long as the engine is in good shape, my engine has 70k miles on it right now. Here is what I want to go with with, understand I'm trying to stay on a budget somewhat.

Garrett T3/T04E 60 trim .63 A/R
Precision FMIC 350hp
Spoolin Performance Manifold
Tial 38mm Wastegate w/7psi spring
RC 550 saturated injectors
Spoolin Perfomance 2.5" Downpipe
Walbro 255lph Fuel Pump
SS Oil Lines
2.5" High Flow Cat
2.5" Exhaust
Exedy Stage 2 Clutch
Energy Suspension Motor Mount Inserts (help with wheel hop)

As far as Electronics go heres what I will go with.
Hondata s200 or s300 (not sure which yet, but getting tuned professionally)
Boost Gauge
Oil Pressure Gauge
Greddy Turbo Timer (seems to be simple and gets the job done)

I realize to use Hondata I will have to switch over to OBD1, also from what I've read most 3" exhausts are loud as ****. I don't want my car to be too loud for daily driving which is why I am going with a 2.5" exhaust unless someone can recommend how to have a quiet 3" exhaust setup. Well let me know what you guys think and if you have anything else to add for me to think about. I'll appreciate it, thanks. This is my first post on HondaTech too so I really hope this is the right place for this lol.

Thankss
Old 02-13-2006, 03:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Planning out a setup to turbo my 98 GSR (mrimmortal01)