Notices

New turbo build

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2013, 03:34 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New turbo build

Hello everyone,

I currently have a 1996 civic ex, 5 speed with the d16y8. Im going to be turboing my car on a budget besides the main parts that i cant fab up myself, (turbo, wastegate,injectors,ecu,oil pump(will explain), and bov). Ok so what i plan on doing is somewhat of a remote turbo setup, before you knock it, it has been done. Im not trying to break any records or have the fastest civic around here, just a nice daily driver with pep. Here is a list of what i have gotten so far,

Stock d16y8 engine(incar)5 speed
450cc dsm injectors with resistor box
Obd2a p28 ecu from HondaData with s200
Aps S/R40 turbo
Bov

Now for the mounting/plumbing im a welder/programmer and have access to a plasma table so flanges and misc parts i can draw and cut for myself. Any and all tubing i can also get with no problem. My Question is with this size turbo and my car being stock and only maybe wanting to see 200whp with stock block, would this turbo be up to the Challenge of making good boost? It has the internal wastegate it came with from aps, and im thinking around 10psi will be enough to get my hp needs. Besides all the fabbing and knowing were to place everything, my area of trouble are going to be the oil supply/drain. I was thinking of a scavenger pump, with a seperate tank for oil rather then use the engines oil/drilling tapping oil pan or fill cap. Also with these 450cc dsm injectors(blue top) do i need to upgrade my fuel pump with these or can i get by with stock pump and less boost?

Im not doing a front mount turbo setup, nor do i want to at this time. Any incite will be appreciated.

Last edited by Dynastro; 04-11-2013 at 05:31 AM.
Old 04-11-2013, 06:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: New turbo build