Notices

D16Y8 TURBO ASSISTANCE?

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2013, 07:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default D16Y8 TURBO ASSISTANCE?

Hello all. I have a 1999 Honda Civic Si in Tafetta white, bone stock D16Y8 with 220,000 km's on it. I am doing a turbo build over this winter and I am fairly new to the un-naturally aspirated game and I could really use some assistance. I have done many hours of research thus far and I figured starting my own post wouldn't hurt.

I want to have a reliable, fast and fun daily driver come spring. 220HP+. I am posting this thread because:
1) I want to know what you's think about the setup I am choosing to go with.
2) I want to know what you's would recommend/do differently.
3) I would like someone to give me a full rundown on what is needed to do.
4) I do NOT understand the OBD2-OBD1 conversion, ECU chip/tune etc. and if someone could explain this to me it would awesome!
5) Any other tips, tricks or information provided is greatly appreciated.

As of now, this is what I have:

Turbo Parts: Garrett turbo and every other turbo related part is Turbosmart, the only thing I am missing is intercooler piping I believe.

Motor Parts: Eagle H-Beam rods, ACL race bearings and ARP headstuds.

What I want to do:

Turbo Parts: Obviously a full turbo kit (can someone list everything involved that's turbo kit related).

Motor Parts: I want to run about 220+ reliably. I want to do Eagle H-Beam rods, ACL race bearings, ARP head studs, low compression Vitara pistons/rings (standard bore), keep the head stock, bigger injectors (what size?), bigger fuel pump (Walboro 255 I hear is great, any others?). This is pretty much it engine wise.

ECU: From what I've read I need to convert my OBD2b-OBD1, chip the ECU and have it tuned?

Management/Programming: Can someone explain to me what Hondata, Chrome, Neptune etc. is and what it does exactly? Thank you.

Other Questions: Do I need to upgrade my axles or clutch? Etc.