Notices

Need Advice on Project Car

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2003, 10:03 PM
diearzte2

Default Need Advice on Project Car

Hey guys, I am new to the boards, but I have been reading for a couple weeks now. I will explain my situation. I live in MN, I am 17, so I am relatively new to the car scene, especially imports because they are just now getting big in the Twin Cities (as far as i know). Anyways, I recently bought a '99 Integra GS-R. I was completely content with it, well except for the suspension, or lack thereof. One day I was going to the local dragstrip (well, Wisconsin is the closest we have to local, so a two hour trip to get some timeslips) with a couple friends. We took an exit, not speeding, but at an unreasonable speed. My car kinda slid off the road and rolled down a hill.
A few weeks later, I got a final estimate on the damage; it was a little over 12k, so insurance totaled it out. I convinced my mom to let me buy it back, so I have a completely usable B18C1 in my garage.
A good friend of mine, who is not into cars, decided to buy a new car (a Passat or something like that) and has no need for his old one, a 97 Civic DX. I offered to buy it, so he is selling it to me at a reasonable price, so I have some money left over.
So now, I have two cars, and a couple of options. I decided I want a turbo car, so I have been trying to learn as much as possible about forced induction. I have come up with the following list of parts, and what I would like is some feedback from the guys here who know whats good/bad. Please dont flame me, 'cause I really dont need it, and I have read as far back as 8 pages of threads, but I want something about my specific situation.