Notices

Need advice on B18b1 "mild turbo build"

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2014, 11:56 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice on B18b1 "mild turbo build"

Hey guys, I'm new to the Honda world and wanted to ask some advice. I recently bought an EG Civic with a "mildly built" B18b and a Garrett 60mm turbo making about "300whp". After I got it home and started looking into it, turns out the PO lied to me. It's actually a completely stock LS with just injectors... Also, he was hiding a pretty serious oil burning problem (1qt per ~100 miles) and an oil leak. So I've narrowed it down to the piston rings and I'm going to have to go into the block and rebuild the engine.

Since I'm already going to be in there, I figured I'd go ahead and "mildly build" the engine since it will be my daily driver and I want it to be able to handle the boost reliably. Do you guys have any suggestions about what parts I should upgrade. Mind you, I'm not made of money and I'm still paying for college so I can't dump a TON of money into it. I've heard the stock LS block can handle up to 400hp (with ARP head studs of course), but I really don't want to test that out. Since I have to get the car retuned, I may turn up the boost a little bit.
Old 03-26-2014, 12:24 PM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Re: Need advice on B18b1 "mild turbo build"

Go autoworks kit
Full blown fuel setup
Ignitor bypass from turbo-ls
Turbo from shodan
Cams from DDTECH
Tune from churchs
Old 03-26-2014, 12:37 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I've already got the fuel injectors from before, going to keep the same turbo, not getting a new cam, and I've got a good guy for a tune.

Maybe I should have clarified, what are some good quality pistons, rods, etc. I've already looked and I have some ideas, but I figured I'd ask you guys because the people here are a lot more knowledgeable than I.