Notices

knowledge tutorial needed: Basic conceptual understanding of Boost-by-gear

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2018, 03:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default knowledge tutorial needed: Basic conceptual understanding of Boost-by-gear

I'm new to configuring boost by gear. I installed a 4 ports hondata boost controller solenoid. The installation was a breeze and connections were done correctly. The solenoid clicking. I'm using flashpro.
At first, I put a value of 40% in duty cycle, the boost comes so fast and hitting the boost cut too so early like pinning you down in your seat. I hate it!
Someone told me to put a 0% value on all the column of the duty cycle, to find out if my solenoid is working properly and I should not hit the boost cut on 0 %. Sure enough no boost cut, I can only go a little over my wastegate spring of 3 lbs. I knew that my solenoid is working.

The reason i want boost by gear is because my car is so light (1,300 lbs) and to dump all the power at 1st and 2nd is impossible to hookup, dangerous, i can't handle it. Now, I like to guess on the value and try this value below:
Can i put 5% duty cycle in 1st and 10% in 2nd and the 3rd is 20% all the way to 6th gear?

Someone who is good in boost by gear, please give me some insight.
Thank you!
Old 04-22-2018, 04:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default re: knowledge tutorial needed: Basic conceptual understanding of Boost-by-gear

What frequency is your solenoid set at? Higher frequency equals a more aggressive solenoid. Try starting with you frequency at 25hz and and set you duty cycle to 25 and see what boost you end up with.
Old 04-22-2018, 05:11 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default re: knowledge tutorial needed: Basic conceptual understanding of Boost-by-gear

Thank you for your reply.
I did not change the hertz value from the original flashpro, it was still 33 hertz.
I like to try 25hertz, can you kindly explain what will I expect and the behavior once I change it to lower hertz.