Notices

I need to boost HELP

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2006, 10:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need to boost HELP

I have a 1999 Integra LS 2dr B18B. I want to boost. I am very new to forced induction and I need some SERIOUS help. The only mods I have on my car are a AEM short ram intake, Skunk 2 exhaust, and 4-2-1 header. I want to know what would be a good set up for my car.

My car needs to still remain a daily driver. Keep that in mind. I would like to know what would be a good setup for my car that is under $2,200. I need to know everything that I would though. From th big things to all the little things. Or if there is a good kit I can that has everything please educate me on that.

I NEED TO BE EDUCATED. THANKS
Old 04-08-2006, 06:12 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: I need to boost HELP (s_christlieb3)

Do yourself a favor, and EDUCATE YOURSELF. THANKS.

Decide what your HP goals are, then do some reading and researching.

Ill try to get you started.

Things you need:

-Manifold: There are two basic designs, log manifolds and equal length manifolds.

-Turbo: Turbos are sized by AR numbers. A good rule of thumb, the higher the AR, the later in the RPM range it will spool up/the more HP it can make.

-Downpipe: Connects the exhaust side of your turbo to the rest of your exhaust.

-Wastegate: Regulates the amount of boost pressure that your turbo will output.

-Intercooler: Cools off the hot compressed air coming out of the compressor side of your turbo.

-Blow Off Valve (BOV): Vents boost pressure into the atmosphere when you let off the gas.

-Oil Lines: Provides oil to and from your turbo.

I purposely left these descriptions incomplete, as you will learn so much more by researching yourself than by people spoon feeding it to you.

There are a few other misc things left to a complete turbo system, so go find out what they are.

Good Luck.
Old 04-08-2006, 08:12 AM