Notices

<<< Hondata vs. AEM >>>

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2002, 08:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default <<< Hondata vs. AEM >>>

I am one of the few folks to have both systems so I am speaking from first hand experience. This is my opinion based on my personal preference.

If you are running a rarely race daily driver I would personally recommend the Hondata system. I have only had the AEM about a month but so far I have had a much better user experience with my Hondata.

This is largely because I am not a professional tuner and many of the AEM’s features are way beyond me. The Hondata gives you exactly what you need to make a modified car run like factory.

The AEM has a gamut of features that are not needed for day to day use. This makes routine settings very difficult. I hate to say it, but it even took JC from AEM hours to get my cars idling, and even now it won’t idle with the A/C on. I did appreciate his efforts though as his time was limited.

The AEM has every feature you could ever want but the learning curve is definitely inhibitive. The Hondata on the other hand is very easy to use, even despite the fiddly programming. When I first put my 440’s in I had the car running within 5mins with the Hondata.

The AEM is marketed as a consumer programmable system. I have looked at Speedpro, PowerFC, Hondata and most of the piggy back stuff. The AEM is the most comprehensive and the most difficult to use. Obviously if you are patient and willing to spend lots of time on the phone you could learn it and I am sure it would work great.

As more tuners and users become familiar with the AEM it should become more usable and I know AEM are attempting to simplify the software interface, but for now my vote goes to the Hondata hands down.