Notices

Heard a theory today, maybe you can clarify.

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2003, 09:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heard a theory today, maybe you can clarify.

Ok, please dont flame me, im completely new to this. I currently drive a 1.8t jetta which i love. Im looking to get a 95 civic hatch as a project car. Forced induction is a must for me. I love the feeling of a turbo being fully spooled.

OK, so on to my question. I was told (and i guess this makes sense to me) that the LS engine is better for forced induction than the GSR engines. Now obviously a turbo is a effective because it forces more oxygen into the same amount of space. But when VTEC kicks in, the more radical cams flow more air, faster, through the engine. And this kinda works against the turbo trying to compress more air into the chamber.

Does this make sense to anyone? Basically i was told VTEC works against forced induction. Is this true?
Old 04-29-2003, 09:31 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Heard a theory today, maybe you can clarify. (spaghizzle)

I think you should look at some dyno posts and tell me if you still think vtec works against FI. I think most agree that the shortcomings of a turbo'd honda is that proper tuning is necessary to be reliable. The sleeves in a stock honda block can't resist detonation as well as a cast iron block. Also, a gsr will always make more power than an ls if everything else is the same, but the ls is more favorable because it has lower compression, so its safer to just throw on a setup and go. LS's have made great power though also, I'm not trying to demean them.
Old 04-29-2003, 09:33 AM
Trial User

I would say your somewhat correct, however you can tune the cams to eliminate some of that extra overlap.

My Turbo GSR at 8psi spanks on my friends Turbo LS with 9psi
Old 04-29-2003, 09:36 AM

Default Re: (psi420)

is it possbile to put on a thicker head gasket to lower compression?