Notices

H-T i need ur help... possible serious problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2007, 08:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default H-T i need ur help... possible serious problem

Ok guys, I have an ef with a B18a1, B16a2 head, and a turbo kit. I got the car from a fellow h-ter so i didn't build it myself and i've never built a motor before. I honestly haven't even swapped my own motor before, not that i can't... i've done my tranny and a basically everything else. So this is what happened, i was drivin tonight and i shift to third and the car starts boggin out. So i drive home and start thinking. I Pulled out each spark plug wire and they all bog out when i do that except for the 2nd one. when looking at it head on.. it's the 2nd from the left. So yea, I changed the plug... checked the spark plug wire and it's sparking. Still bogging out. What do u guys think? it's late right now and i can't see anything and as soon as i wake up i'll be checking it out some more. I'm hoping for the best but i'm not really wanting to hear the worst. So... I've changed the spark plus and i'm sure the wire is good. What other things can i check>? i do kno for sure that the 2nd cylinder doesn't effect the rest of the motor when i pull it out which to me looks like the culprit. 2nd main concern... I believe this block was built, pistons and whatever... it's b18a1. Me, if the block were bad, i'd want to just install a gsr block.. use my b16a2 head and go about my life. Any special headgasket necessary? supposedly the head has ctr cams, it's port polish, has a 3angle valve job... and various things that a fully built head would have. Would putting the b16a2 head on a b18c block, probably obd2... be a difficult task or would it be plug and play? i've never really liked the idea of ls-vtec anyway. Also, Since the car is EF... i needed hasport mounts which are already installed. Will these mounts work with a newer b-series motor? I looked on hasport and they said it