Notices

First time turbo user

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2005, 08:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time turbo user

HI im new to these forms and i got some questiona about the D16Y8 engine in my 00 civic ex. I am a boost junkie and the first mod i though about was a turbo so i was looking at the edlebrock performer x turbo kit is that a good kit or are the any other ones i should look at? Also i bought this car with a hole in the block so it will be a whole engine rebuild what type of parts should i use since this is my first import and i mostly know V8 stuff. Or should i put in one of the B series motors?
If yall can help me thanks a bunch!

Modified by Mr.boost at 9:39 AM 8/12/2005
Old 08-12-2005, 11:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: First time turbo user (Mr.boost)

well, you have ups and downs for your final decision on which engine to run. b series = more power, more expensive to replace. d series = cheap and fast replacements found, more boost to make more power.

i would build up the d series, but i would put together my own kit for it. last i remember it was 3k for the edelbrock kit. with 3 grand, you can pick and choose which turbo will suit you better, and just have all the parts customized to your needs and wants
Old 08-14-2005, 01:01 PM

Default Re: First time turbo user (tdocrx)

well like what brand of turbos and things imnew to the whole turbo thing i have only run blowers on the past.
Old 08-15-2005, 03:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by Mr.boost &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">well like what brand of turbos and things imnew to the whole turbo thing i have only run blowers on the past.</TD></TR></TABLE>

Blowers, cool.

That's my dad's type of stuff.

I am still trying to learn exaclty what one needs to look at when choosing a turbo, so I can't give you much advise there, but if I was starting over from scratch....