Notices

a few questions for the boost junkies

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2005, 11:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default a few questions for the boost junkies

im new to boost, but planning on building a kit this spring. b18c1
ok im planning on running 7-8 psi daily driven stock internals for now.....10psi tops at the strip.
1)im wondering if i need to get new injectors if i already have a 255 fuel pump, aem rail, and aem fpr?

2)i am also wondering if it is ok to run the kit with my stock p72 ecu un-chipped for the time being and get hondata a little later then tune from there?
or can i run stock ecu....tune it as much as possible like that....then retune when i get hondata.

funds are tight for the time being seeing as im still in college but i want to make sure it is a nice safe set up until i get out of school and can dump some real money into it.

thanks alot for the help!
Old 02-17-2005, 11:59 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: a few questions for the boost junkies (gser67)

Is it an OBD 1 or OBD 2 B18C1?

Have you heard of Uberdata? it's very similar to Hondata, but's its a free program. The only thing you have to pay for are the supplies and hardware to run it.

Here is a price list I posted on that thread:

free -uberdata
$55-$85 - chip burner
$15 - ECU chipping supplies
$10 - Nokia cell phone cable (wire it in to your ECU for datalogging)
$40 - DSM 450cc
$15 - resistor box

And here are a few other options you can get, which aren't absolutely necessary or can be borrowed from somebody else:

$175 - Ostrich romulator
$280 - Zeitronix wideband O2 setup

https://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1147922

https://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1139873
Old 02-18-2005, 02:11 AM

It is a little more polarized than that. If you are gonna do all the tuning yourself, then you need the ship burner, wideband, and cable.

If you are gonna let someone else do it, then you only need the injectors and the ECU hardware.