Notices

F22 boost?

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2005, 07:25 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F22 boost?

Search, already did that....

My F22b1 has 160k miles and still running very well. I want to boost it but I am weary of the milage factor. I know I will need a compression test, but my question is: If I pass the compression test what do I need done to make the engine more reliable for boosting 7-10psi daily and the possiablity of 20-22 psi max. My goal is to throw down 300+ whp 300+wtq from my f22b1, what mods other than nitrous could help me achieve this goal? I know this block holds boost extremly well due to its low compression factor, but thats about it. Thanks, I am a noob on the topic of boost.
Old 10-12-2005, 09:52 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: F22 boost? (AccordCD5)

Make sure all the maintance work is up to date and that everything is 100% before you start. A compression check is a must, good to see you picked up that much at least.

The f22b1 does great with boost... it is a stout motor generally (2.2 liter, 8.8:1 comp, iron sleeves, vtec head, blah, blah...). Although it does still have some weak spots typical of our normally n/a cars.

To run 7-10 psi you would need a turbo setup obviously (whatever your budget can handle, junkyard to custom), a good well <U>tuned</U> fuel management setup (this is extremely important imo... half *** **** will cost you more in the end). Think about something like uberdata, hondata, neptune, crome, aem em$, etc... also gonna need bigger injectors (450cc dsms should cut it, just make sure they are good), upgraded intank pump or added inline fuel pump, colder plugs, etc, etc.

The setup is only as reliable as its weakest component... so plan accordingly... spending a little more in some areas is definately worth it. Beware of the infamous super cheap ebay junk parts specials (if you are not familar search for threads on ebay turbo kits).