Notices

Creep on turbo setup

Old 01-11-2003, 09:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Creep on turbo setup

I am relatively new to the technical aspects of running forced induction by way of turbo. I am very sound in the mechanical part, but technical gets me *** backwards some time. I am starting to see the word "creep" used more and more frequently in a few of the posts I am reading throughout the boards. What exactly is "Creep"? I am assuming its not turbo lag...and I've read that in order to fix it you would have to do several differernt alterations depending on each particular setup. Reason I ask is that I've never heard of the term and when asking about creating a setup for my own use, no one has ever told me that I might experience it with any particular kit...mainly pointing out the GReedy kit...considering it comes with an internal wg. It creep only associated with an internal wg...or is it assoicated with the size of turbo, downpipe, exhaust, etc?
Old 01-11-2003, 09:20 AM

Default Re: Creep on turbo setup (RiceBurner98SC)

Creep is the slow increase of boost caused usually by internal WG's, and the opening for them not being able to flow the amount of waste gases for the desired boost level. OK?
Old 01-11-2003, 10:56 AM

Default Re: Creep on turbo setup (tzsir)

So, its not turbo lag, its just creating boost consistantly, but not at a "normal" rate? And is the ONLY factor causing creep an internal wastegate? I ask because I was going to go with the GReedy kit for my 94 Integra LS, which was highly recommended by many people. But considering it has an internal wg, I'm hoping to get as much info as possible, to avoid problems such as creep. And considering that it uses a smaller turbo, I was under the impression that it would spool up faster because of the size.
Old 01-11-2003, 12:43 PM

Default Re: Creep on turbo setup (RiceBurner98SC)

No, but your getting closer.