Notices

cracked block from timeserts?? can sleeves be re used?

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2010, 08:37 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cracked block from timeserts?? can sleeves be re used?

hello fellow h-t..

footnote..i am an ASE tech and worked on Hondas for 5+ years, i know how to assemble motors etc...long story short, not going to air out my opinion on this shop just yet, going to let him make right on this....

sleeved golden eagle b18b1 block, threads pulled, brought to local honda shop who has timesert kit...fast forward three months. asselby of motor was performed, 30 mins away from start up...had alternator and fuel lines to connect, was pooring in water in radiator.. to only find it pissing out block.. futher diag, found crack near center intake head bolt hole.. cracked block externaly and internaly into oil.. had wtaer in oil....crack is 4 inches from top of block...

questions....
-should shop pay for new block assembly...?
-can sleeves be re used in a new block?

will have pics up soon. im going to bring motor assembled to shop tonight after i get out of work.. gota saab tb job in bay...ugh.. lol thanks for input in advance...

update* just got back from shop. i told them basically u have liability insurance to take care of these issues....

i have a lawyer who will take care of this for me if need be, but i rather have the shop man up and deal with it.. **** happens and i understand this.. but there saying i cracked the block from installing my head on it.. umm no.. pics will be up in a couple mins..

easyer to see i sprayed block with brake clean, and when i blew it out it stayed in the crack..

this is the worst one... it dribbles out like it has a 1/8th in hole in it..

AND this onein right under the coolant pipe/theromsat housing< which had me chassing a leaking o ring at first...

Last edited by punkracer; 09-15-2010 at 06:08 PM. Reason: movedpic in post, and copy pasted to allmotor forum aswell