Notices

Cold Air Intake Box for a turbo

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2013, 07:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cold Air Intake Box for a turbo

Built this originally to include in a Heat Management Thread that I was doing and decided to post it in this section, as I'm happy with the way it came out. Now I am not a professional fabricator or anything like that so don't don't try to kill me. I just think that it may be usefull to some people that are thinking of doing something like this. The box draws in cold air through the existing hole in the frame rail and then out to my fog light housing. I wrapped everything in DEI's Reflect A Gold heat tape.

Hope you guys like it!!

Last edited by SRDFTITAN; 02-09-2013 at 08:15 PM.
Old 02-09-2013, 07:48 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Cold Air Intake Box for a turbo

Looks good, probably would have used bigger intake pipe though.
Old 02-09-2013, 08:02 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by Spawne32
Looks good, probably would have used bigger intake pipe though.
I went with a 3" pipe because my turbo inlet is 3". Actually going with a bigger pipe would have been awesome because I could only find a 4" hole saw!!
Old 02-09-2013, 08:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ah 3" should be enough then looks smaller
Old 02-09-2013, 08:13 PM
Honda-Tech Member

haha yeah I know it does look small.
Old 02-10-2013, 05:23 AM
Honda-Tech Member

I'd watch the inside of the box for signs rust your going to get some condensation in there, other than that looks good man!!
Old 02-10-2013, 08:12 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by sleepencivic
I'd watch the inside of the box for signs rust your going to get some condensation in there, other than that looks good man!!
You are exactly correct and I'm open to suggestions on how to remedy this. I was thinking about this yesterday when I was rinsing the inside of the box out. Any ideas?
Old 02-10-2013, 10:31 AM