Notices

Ceramic Coating-all please help

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2007, 09:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ceramic Coating-all please help

Just a quick question for you turbo guys...
Im new at this and the first thing I'm picking up.. after months of research, is a forced performance dsm manifold. They just came out with a new one it looks great. Its only 250 with the group buy.. and they offer 75$ with a ceramic coating that is good for thermal insulation.. is there any need for this?
Does it help performance.. or does it truly help rust protection to have this thing painted?
Old 02-10-2007, 09:34 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Ceramic coating will help performance (slightly) and will keep the manifold looking good for many years.

Mine is going on 2 years with ceramic and it still looks great. My manifold was very rusty when I had it coated, so I'm surprised the coating is holding up. They bead blasted the thing prior to coating.

The benefit of the coating is really three-fold
1.) it helps keep the heat inside where it can be used to create power
2.) it helps keep the underhood temps a bit cooler which has a multitude of benefits
3.) aesthetics.
Old 02-10-2007, 10:16 AM
Honda-Tech Member

You can heat wrap it afterwards without worring about it rusting, then you will get a genuine reduction in under bonnet temps,keep the heat in the mani and much less likely to burn yourself when working around it .
Old 02-10-2007, 10:27 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: (turbozxi)

I got my manifold coated by Swain coatings and i give it a big the reason i did it was to keep engine compartment temps down. it worked
Old 02-10-2007, 11:22 AM

Received 234 Likes on 209 Posts
Default Re: (Mr. Helsinki)