Notices

cam question--learning experience--message to newbies

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2002, 07:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cam question--learning experience--message to newbies

about a month ago I started doing some research on a cam setup for my supercharged 98 ITR. I know a lot about engines, but I am no expert on forced induction. I posted questions in this forum as well as the ITRCA site. I got a lot of DIFFERENT opinions. Some people said I just needed a more radical intake cam, some said I just needed a radical exhaust cam, and some people told me I couldn't improve over the stock cams. Finally I received a reply from my email to Jackson Racing. They say I don't need to change the cams, but if I do I should go to GSR cams. I never expected this answer, but I guess the milder cams are better for forced induction. Or maybe they just don't want people with JRSC to blow their engines.

Anyway, I want to thank everyone for trying to help, but also let this be a warning to all the newbies out there. Don't take everything you read here as gospel. These forums should just be a starting point for your research. Cars are very expensive toys. Don't spend the money unless you know exactly what you are doing.

[Modified by fredtoast, 4:50 PM 11/26/2002]
Old 11-26-2002, 07:55 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: cam question--learning experience--message to newbies (fredtoast)

I dont know who you were talking to before, but I know most people on this board would recommend the gsr cams.....almost all of the info on this board is better than what you will find elsewhere on the internet. People on this board have been doing this for years and some are very respected in the industry....to be honest with you, I would trust this board over jackson racing (although in this case they gave you good info )
Old 11-26-2002, 10:18 AM

Default Re: cam question--learning experience--message to newbies (genop)