Notices

building a SOHC boost project

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2004, 05:37 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default building a SOHC boost project

im new to the boost game.. i got the tech back ground and such i dont intend on boosting the hell out of my motor its all stock internals. w/52k on the block. just as a general question condisering im putting togehter my own kit. whats some things i shouldent go ghetto on. im gonna use a t25 snail, any tricks with oil tapping and coolent flow?. any advice will be put to good use. thanks
Old 05-24-2004, 05:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: building a SOHC boost project (hatchedzex)

also i know the dangers of boost and how to aviod bad things but would a safe range for pressure run at 6 or so lbs? i know alot of people boosting the **** outta there stock d blocks up to 12psi. but my car is a daily driver. whats your definition of "safe"?
Old 05-24-2004, 06:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

you can boost safely for a reasonable amount of money. alot of factor's come into play for example hp expectations, drivability, what powerband you want etc.

me PERSONALLY, i like top end power so im going with a big turbo, whereas you're going with a T25 (i would move to a 14b though if you like small turbos).

in reality you shouldn't cheap out on anything if you want it done right but there are some tricks you can get away with. for example I BELIEVE you can use a hf/std./vx exhaust manifold with an adapter plate for your turbo. for my reasoning on this click here https://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=871256

since your turbo is internally wastegated you won't have a problem there. charge piping is charge piping

good and effective intercoolers can be had for pretty cheap: https://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=774709

i wouldn't cheap out on your lines, go stainless steel all the way

you can score a cheap bov from a 1G DSM for about $50 and it'll do the job (well at that too)