Notices

bolt-on difficulty level

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2006, 02:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bolt-on difficulty level

I just have a question to those who have installed the bolt-on kits from companies like Greddy, Edelbrock, and etc. How difficult is actually installing the turbo? I have little to no experience working on a car and I thought a Honda would be a fine place to start. I have the socket tools and a car stand/ramp and jack so I don't think any other tools would be needed. I understand how the turbo system works and should flow, but the install still has me worried. With all that, how difficult is installing a matched (to car type) kit?

Anyone like me who is a first timer giving advice would be welcome too
Thanks.

PS: I already plan on engine management and all the necessary things that go with maintaining a turbo
Old 01-16-2006, 02:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Man if you have patience and the ability to read directions, you can do it your self. Management, location and size of return line, and just double checking your work are the most important things. I remember doing my first ever install. I downloaded the directions like two weeks before the kit showed up and went over my whole car so I would know exactly what to do before the kit got here. That way, I wouldn't be so giddy waiting to boost and miss crap and blow it up. It's really not a hard job at all man.
Old 01-16-2006, 03:54 PM

Default Re: (Jay_Sensing)

I just did my install the other day and I didn't think it was difficult at all...just time consuming. Oh, and I didn't have a 'kit'...which means I had to go to the hardware store multiple times to get necessary nuts, bolts, fittings...etc.
Old 01-16-2006, 04:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: (rsintegra)