Notices

B16 Del Sol what are the capabilities for FI?

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2005, 08:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default B16 Del Sol what are the capabilities for FI?

Hi,

I have a standard engined 93 Del sol VTI B16. I have 3K to spend and I want around the 240 - 260bhp mark. Either supercharged or turbo'd whichever is going to be the most reliable and easy for street use. What I need to know is:

1)what are the limitations with the engine? eg, how much boost can I run on stock internals and what bhp figure will I be looking at?

2)what kit should I go for?

3)and the main question, s/c of turbo?

All help much appreciated as I have no prior knowledge or experience of turbo's or superchargers.

Cheers

BTW I have done a search and nothing useful comes up.
Old 04-15-2005, 07:56 PM

Default Re: B16 Del Sol what are the capabilities for FI? (dan2.2)

i have a 94 si w/ a b16a swap and recently put a turbo on it. it pulled extremely hard and it was only running about 5 pounds of boost. one of my friends has a gsr with a jackson racing s/c in a eg hatch and when we raced he couldn't get me after the top of second gear came. one thing to think about is with a s/c you've got the power right off the line where a turbo spools and you have less wheel spin off the line and have awesome top end. it's really just up to what you're going to do with it. as far as the stock internals, they won't be able to handle too much. i'd say about 5-7 psi at the most, but with a honda motor that's a lot. fuel system upgrade is a necessity either way though. running too lean is very bad.
hope this helps out
Old 04-15-2005, 09:21 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: B16 Del Sol what are the capabilities for FI? (sir2sol)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by sir2sol &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">i have a 94 si w/ a b16a swap and recently put a turbo on it.</TD></TR></TABLE>