Notices
Engine Management and Tuning Crome, NepTune, Hondata, AEM, MOTEC

Is it possible to Self-Prep and execute KTuner on the OEM ECU w/ its Immobilizer?

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2017, 06:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it possible to Self-Prep and execute KTuner on the OEM ECU w/ its Immobilizer?

on their webpage it says i have to buy anothwr ecu and keep mine for emissions
i have questions
is it not possible to"prep" the originsl ecu so i dont have to reprogram the immobilizer?
and what exactly they do with the ecu that i cant do myself?

does it mean that once"prepped for ktuner" the ecu cant be returned to stock and act as a stock ecu like the obd1 was with a jumper or something?
this is my first k series car im completely new to all this.
Old 06-09-2017, 11:13 AM

Received 234 Likes on 209 Posts
Default Re: 2004 tsx ktuner. can i do it myself? ecu prep and keep the original ecu with immo

Sounds like a customer service call if I've ever heard of a situation that required one.... Time to Call 'em up!
Old 06-12-2017, 07:28 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: 2004 tsx ktuner. can i do it myself? ecu prep and keep the original ecu with immo

Taken from the TSX Application page on the KTuner website:

What’s required?
• A KTuner prepped ECU. The factory TSX ECU cannot be used for development, as it does not have the interface required for our hardware.

Also on that page:
• By using a different ECU the immobilizer light on the dashboard will flash. You can disable the immobilizer in the software and unplug the immobilizer unit to prevent flashing on the dashboard or you can have the ECU sync’d to your immobilizer at any Honda/Acura dealer.
Old 06-12-2017, 07:42 AM

Originally Posted by HRTuning
Taken from the TSX Application page on the KTuner website:

What’s required?