Notices

Worn valve guides or scam?

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2017, 04:56 PM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Worn valve guides or scam?

My cylinder head warped from an overheat, so I took it to a machine shop to be resurfaced, and the first thing that the man at the machine shop said when he saw the head is "there's a lot more wrong with that head than being warped". He grabbed one of the open valves and moved it back and forth and said "there's not supposed to be any play in the valves. Your valve guides are shot. That's causing the valves to not close right and is costing you power! It'll be $200 for new valve guides." So my question is are the open valves not supposed to move back and forth a tiny bit? I would think that a little play is normal and harmless, but I'm no expert. Is he trying to rip me off or do I actually need new valve guides? Thanks.
Old 11-04-2017, 05:21 PM
-Intl Steve Krew

Received 183 Likes on 161 Posts
Default Re: Worn valve guides or scam?

Pull up a factory service manual, take a gander. There is a tolerance of what it should be.

This is .005" of play.... how much more were your valves moving?

Usually if the valves are moving side to side, there is too much play and the guides need to be replaced.
Old 11-04-2017, 05:38 PM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Originally Posted by Caoboy
Pull up a factory service manual, take a gander. There is a tolerance of what it should be.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LIL1lV_xtHI

This is .005" of play.... how much more were your valves moving?

Usually if the valves are moving side to side, there is too much play and the guides need to be replaced.
Thank you very much. There was about that much, or maybe slightly more play than that. Is that bad? Will valve guides effect the way the engine runs, or just make it burn oil?
Old 11-04-2017, 05:42 PM
-Intl Steve Krew