Notices

Junior's first build lol

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2015, 11:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Junior's first build lol

Looking to build my first motor aside from rods/pistons girdle, pick up,windage tray, oil pump, water pump, what all do I need? I'm having trouble finding the info I need. The platform I am building on is a JDM b18c bare atm . I currently have rods,, pickup,windage tray,acl race bearings,b17 head semi complete, 84mm high cr pistons,working on obtaining sleeves....but what About all the various knick knacks gaskets,hardware,washers,seals,pullies...I'm new to the game only a year in and the help would very much be appreciated thanks in advance....ps I have a 95 gsr sedan could I use anything from that?

Last edited by DA9tothewheel; 12-31-2015 at 11:28 PM.
Old 01-02-2016, 07:49 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Well my advice to you is to get a Haynes manual and read through it a couple times before attempting to start building anything. You need to send the block out to a machine shop or company to be sleeved if your plan to use those 84mm pistons.
Old 01-02-2016, 10:23 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Junior's first build lol

I plan on having it sleeved via a local machine shop. I just need to know if there are sensors or anything I need to buy before I start building as I am still in the gathering parts and gasket phase. And yes I have searched prior to this even purchase a book on b series rebuilds but it mentions zilch about sensors ,oil coolers etc.
Old 01-03-2016, 08:05 PM
Hysterically Calm

Received 562 Likes on 481 Posts

It's my understanding that the USDM B18C5 is pretty much the same motor as the JDM B18C Type R motor.

If you goto helminc.com you can purchase the helms manual for the
B18C5
VTEC
Found in: USDM/CDM DC2 Acura Integra Type-R (Integra Type-R)
1997, 1998, 2000, 2001 Integra Type-R (Note:1997-2001 CDM)