Notices
Drag Racing Drag Racing (legal) & Associated Topics

My Drag CRX pics pics pics

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2011, 09:41 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My Drag CRX pics pics pics

Well its been years in the making and gone through a few different transformations but it feels closer to finished than ever now. I bought my 91 CRX from a friend waaaaaaaaaaaay out in the sticks for $500. Looking back I feel like I paid too much but oh well at least I got the car I wanted.

I bought the car to be strictly a toy for me and the wife to trailer up to the drag strip and have fun with. So we got right to tearing it apart and cleaning it up. Heres my wife 7 months pregnant tearing the locked up HF motor out.

I boosted an ls vtec set up and beat the hell out of it for a while looking like this. Sorry for the bad angle but its all Ive got from those days.

Im a mechanic and dont have tons of disposable income so ive always built my car with leftover junk that customers decided to upgrade out of. Luckily I work at a very reputable shop with an in house dyno and have a very gifted Hondata tuner as my boss. So even though my set ups have all been built from junk I have been as fast as need be to be competitive in my area against other FWD cars in my class. Ive won numerous local events with the car. Unfortunately I hot lapped the car one day at an event running a small shot of nitrous to spool my outdated improperly sized turbo and put a tiny crack in a sleeve. That was the end of that motor. I did still manage to win the event running anywhere between 7.3's and 7.1's. Obviously in the eighth mile.