Notices
Detailing Auto Detailing and Concours

Tricks to get the paint "wet?"

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2009, 09:26 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tricks to get the paint "wet?"

I'm no stranger to taking care of paint, but I am new to making it look good. So, I've been trying different things to make my paint look half as good as you guys, but I just don't have the right tools ... so I've been improvising =P

My hood has always been a problem for me because the paint is so soft, so every time I didn't use a microfiber towel on it, it would scratch the paint. After claying it and doing a light cut, I got most of the hard scratches out. From there, though, I had some slight holograms from the orbital (yeah, I know ...) so I decided it needed a polish, but the auto parts stores were closed, so I improvised. I had some Pledge furniture polish and wanted to try it out ... so here is the result!

The picture quality is crappy, but in real life, the holograms went away, the paint looks really wet, and in one picture I took, it looks like I took a picture of myself with stars in the background, but they were the rock chips in the paint =P
Old 12-20-2009, 10:13 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Tricks to get the paint "wet?"

I can't imagine putting wood oil on your cars paint is going to be good for it. Wax/Sealent helps protect against uv rays, where as oil will probably magnify them. Its like if you put on baby oil instead of sunscreen you will burn.

Just a theory though.
Old 12-20-2009, 10:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Yeah, I didn't think about that =P *runs outside to wax the car*
Old 12-21-2009, 12:00 AM
Honda-Tech Member

nice man! at first i thought that the reflection of the tree and sky is an actuall airbrushed graphic on your hood
Old 12-23-2009, 12:08 PM
Honda-Tech Member