Notices
Classic Hondas All Pre-1988 Hondas.

Should I sell or should I build?! 71 civic

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2012, 08:59 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I sell or should I build?! 71 civic

Right now I have a 81 civic sitting on my front lawn. It was working days prior to the event of it dying ever so randomly. I'm suspecting it could be the alternator but other than that, it still has other issues such as needing new clutch and all sorts of flushes. I am a poor college student who knows almost to nothing about working on cars. I can do the semi basics and that's about it. I want to keep this car so bad but it keeps draining money out of my pocket to the point I can't even enjoy a cup of ramen anymore =/

What should I doooo?!

this car also has 109k original miles on original engine. Yes you read it right =] clean title as well :D

sorry for misleading title. I meant to say 81**
Attached Images  
Old 10-08-2012, 09:37 AM
crazy mad murdock

Default Re: Should I sell or should I build?! 71 civic

if your poor than replace. On most early hondas you can do a clutch with a stakeboard and a friend. The clutch will run you around 80$. Alternators can be rebuilt at home most of the time for less than 20$ by replacing the brush. The only fluids you need to flush are the transmission, engine, radiator (don't use tap water).

I bought my first crx in '97 from a junk yard and was in the same boat. I needed a car and had only an emergency road side kit and two stores I could afford (biglots and dollar tree) near by. With zero experience, two blocks of wood, and the spare tire jack I replaced my clutch...yes...it took two days, but from that one moment in time I've now saved money over the last 10 years by that moment in time.
Old 10-08-2012, 05:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Random dying.... remember you need gas and spark... so you need to find if it dies because one of the other.