Notices
Classic Hondas All Pre-1988 Hondas.

'83 Accord. Best way to get it to sellable condition?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2014, 08:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '83 Accord.

I was given an '83 Accord by a friend. 89,000 miles on it. I want to sell it, but there are a few issues that would make it pretty hard to sell. The steering rack was dripping, but now shooting out fluid, so I'm not driving it 'till I get that fixed. I already am working on installing a new rack.

Question One: Regardless of temperature, it normally has to crank for a while before starting properly. I'm not that experienced with carbs, so have no clue where to start. Is it an issue with gaskets, choke, something else?

Question Two: Appraisal. The interior is in great shape, recently detailed. I think the car's been garaged all its life. The plastic films are still on the window handles. Modern speakers & sony radio. Rebuilt transmission a few years ago. No major body damage. Anyone have any ideas on what I should list in on craigslist for, if I get it working?

Last edited by acetech09; 06-09-2014 at 10:50 AM.
Old 05-27-2014, 08:55 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: '83 Accord. Best way to get it to sellable condition?

Pics:

Name:  mxed3Qil.jpg
Views: 6
Size:  67.2 KB

Name:  znevjWDl.jpg
Size:  65.8 KB

Name:  CvJjkf7l.jpg
Views: 7
Size:  57.4 KB
Old 05-28-2014, 03:58 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Have you tried hitting the gas a few times when starting (before turning the key)? Not sure how inexperienced with carbs you are, but thats what I do with my 83 Civic and it starts pretty quick. LIke you said, the car looks great and I bet you can get a pretty penny for it if you sell it. But, I have to ask, why would you sell it? You have a beautiful, dependable old Honda that you got for free(?)! Keep it forever and keep it this clean!
Old 05-28-2014, 06:28 AM
Honda-Tech Member