Notices
Classic Hondas All Pre-1988 Hondas.

1982 civic wagon Need help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2013, 08:59 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1982 civic wagon Need help!

I am completely new to the Honda world! I just picked up an 82 civic wagon and want to start building it; however I know nothing about this car and I can't find any performance parts... Does anyone know how to lower the weird suspension this thing has? Any performance mods? Or at least where to even find parts for this thing? Any help would be awesome! Thanks
Old 07-16-2013, 07:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: 1982 civic wagon Need help!

"Weird" suspension? It has coil front springs and leaf springs out back. Nothing weird about that, my friend. Me? I heated my front coils up and put blocks on the rear. Just like lowering a truck. I eventually went with no front coils and flipped/mono leaf on the rear.
Old 07-16-2013, 09:46 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Heating springs isn't that good of an idea, but in moderation why not. LOL
I would probably cut a coil, maybe two. It will have a stiffer spring rate but probably be okay.
Maybe some coil over sleeves could be adapted to use with the stock strut assemblies.

In the back slapping a set of lowering blocks would be your easiest option. Could possibly remove a leaf but I wouldn't get too extreme with that either. Like above, in moderation it won't be too horrible.

I will get around to dropping mine eventually. Would be cool to go back to my minitruckin' roots and bag it.
Old 07-18-2013, 03:08 AM
Honda-Tech Member