Notices
Audio / Security / Video Sound Systems, Alarms, Electronics

total noob to audio, need help

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2005, 04:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default total noob to audio, need help

hey i bought an amp and sub from a buddy of mine for only 50 bucks, but havent ever put it in, i put sony 4 ways in my car, with nothing powering it up, i have my mp3 plugged through my tape player, i done need a cd player, and a cd player would bump up the amps, but i dont want to put the sub in, dont like subs, i just want clear music, so i want to put the amp through my speakers, i have a kenwood that says it has 200 watts, maximum power, it says its stereo/bridgeable, my buddy gave me all the wires to hook the amp up to a sub, so do i know need more wires to hook up to all speakers, or will it power the speakers through my tape player, from this point on i am lost, any help will be apreciated, i also dont have any manuals or directions for it either, thanks
Old 09-26-2005, 08:08 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: total noob to audio, need help (young noob)

If you are going to run your rear speakers off of the amp, you will not bridge it.
If you want to use the factory radio, use a rca line converter.
As far as wire goes you need:
10 or 8 gauge power wire at 18 ft to be safe, with a 30 amp fuse and fuse holder.
10 or 8 gauge ground wire at 5 ft to be safe
18 gauge turn on (remote) wire in 15 ft.
3 or 6 ft rca jack.
and i would say around 12 ft of 18 gauge speaker wire.

Old 09-26-2005, 08:17 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: total noob to audio, need help (Slosc2)

if you have everything to wire up the amp:
power wire
fuse/ holder
ground
remote wire
rca's
speaker wire

Most likely you have the stock hu in the car. So i say go to best buy or some audio shop around you. (i know best buy has them because now i work at bestbuy) and there speaker connecters that connect to the stock harness and become 2 wires: