Notices
All Motor / Naturally Aspirated No power adders

97mm h22 3mm head gasket question

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2018, 03:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Icon5 97mm h22 3mm head gasket question

Hi, I'm building a G23 (I know I'm late to the party lol) and I have some thechnical questions as I want to daily/weekend drive this setup and only 91 octane is available here.

The build consists of:
- F23 block, bored to 87mm
- F23 crank, balanced
- F23 crower rods
- Pro 2 cams
I'm shooting for around 11.6 to 11.8 compression to make power with these big cams while running 91 octane.

The problem comes when choosing pistons, because I've seen a lot of people having problems running k24 pistons with pro 2 cams. The valve angle of the H22 is 29 degrees while K24 is 25 degrees, so even with deep valve relief the valves hit the piston. So I have three options here, but cost is a major factor here as I'm still studying, so:

1. K24 pistons (the 12.5cr i think, in my setup yields around 11.9) with a slightly thicker Head gasket and fly cut the valve reliefs ($$$)

2. H22 shelf pistons with 7cc dome (with correct valve angle) and mill it a bit so i get 4.5cc dome to get around 11.7cr with 2mm HG ($$)

3.H22 pistons with whatever cc dome i need (shelf of course) with a stupid thick 3mm HG ($)

I basically want to know if i can run 3mm head gasket with the piston sticking out the block a fuckton on an all motor setup and expect a long life out of it.

Any cheap solutions welcomed!
Old 11-08-2018, 04:42 PM
Premium Member

Received 163 Likes on 150 Posts
Default Re: 97mm h22 3mm head gasket question

If possible, you would be better off using an F20B block bored to 87mm with H22 slugs or just using a 97+ H22 block with 55mm mains. "G" builds tend to have a fair amount of reliability issues and lots of unnecessary mixing/matching of parts to get everything to work as you're currently learning.
Old 11-08-2018, 06:30 PM
Honda-Tech Member