Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

1993 Integra, New Pump, Troubleshooting No Fuel @ Filter

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2014, 01:21 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1993 Integra, New Pump, Troubleshooting No Fuel @ Filter

hey all,

New member here. I've been using Honda-Tech since 2001, when I used the forums to build a 1991 Integra. My dad liked it so much he bought a 1993 Integra, Captiva Blue Pearl. When he moved to Texas last year, he left it with me to fix up and sell on his behalf.

Fast-forward to two weeks ago. I'm low on gas but make a wrong turn, miss the gas station, underestimate the distance to the next station and run out of fuel. Get a can of gas in town, put about 3 gallons in, won't start.

Car runs & drives the next day, won't run after the next time it's parked. I'm suspecting I overheated the fuel pump. ECU reads code #43. Diagnosis is confirmed by whacking the fuel tank with a hammer (car starts right up).

I order an aftermarket fuel pump and sock on ebay (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=331269331229) and install it yesterday. Let the pump prime for about 10 seconds by cycling ignition key, try to start it...no fuel. Pop the bleeder valve on the top of the fuel filter open and cycle the pump; still no fuel. I spent 2-3 hours cycling the pump and cranking the engine. No leaks, but won't send fuel to the filter. I tried it with the gas cap off, I checked for a blocked fuel filter, I tried everything I could think of but still couldn't get fuel. The light on the dashboard's coming on, the ECU fuse isn't blown, I can hear the relay clicking and I can hear the fuel pump running (it's louder than the old one).