Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

Grinding noise, Bearing? Tires? Other?

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2013, 12:41 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Grinding noise, Bearing? Tires? Other?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hey guys i'm new to the Honda world as i just bought an old 96 Accord EX. The brakes on it were in horribe condition and we replaced all pads and rotors and a front passenger side caliper. After test driving it, there's a grinding noise while driving that fades and goes away the further i turn the wheel left. It doesn't seem to pull to either side and there's some play in the steering wheel. The noise seems to be coming from the front and checking the passenger side wheel after driving it's a bit warmer than the others. My buddies did lube the bearings but maybe not good enough? Being that the caliper and all the parts were new perhaps there should be lubrication on caliper/pads/and rotor? Maybe the axle nut is not tight enough or too tight? The guy that sold it to me said he noticed the noise after he rotated the tires front to back ( the tires in general aren't in good condition so it's a suspect too) So my question is how to diagnose? Of course I'm hoping it's not a bearing but where should i go from here?
Old 05-12-2013, 04:23 PM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Grinding noise, Bearing? Tires? Other?

check the caliper backing plate it's probably rubbing/bent into the rotor...also you can't lube any bearings on a honda so I'm curious how he did just that
Old 05-12-2013, 10:23 PM
MM Gruppe B

Received 83 Likes on 76 Posts

Rotate tires back to front and see if the noise goes away. Also check the lug nuts are snug to the appropriate torque and not loose or overtightened.
Old 05-14-2013, 05:20 AM
Honda-Tech Member