Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Honda Accord (1990 - 2002)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2007, 01:38 PM   #1
Accord-Guy
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Accord-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicagi, IL, USA
Posts: 117
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition??????????????

So if it is possible to install turbo onto accord with automatic tranny, would it function properly and would I have enough boost?
Accord-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 01:47 PM   #2
skingfreak
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
skingfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Monroe, MI, USA
Posts: 828
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition?????????????? (Accord-Guy)

anything is possible with enough time and money....with that said, why dont you buy the supercharger that is built for our car?
__________________
00 EX V6 silver SOLD
04 WRX Wagon Blue Soon to be stage 2 TSX Projector HID conversion http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif
skingfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 01:55 PM   #3
Accord-Guy
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Accord-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicagi, IL, USA
Posts: 117
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition?????????????? (skingfreak)

Because it costs like $3995, and all you get is like 42-48 at wheels, I think that reasonable price for that kind of gains should be in between $1500 to 2500, in that case I would buy without a question.
Accord-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 02:33 PM   #4
WhiteAcord
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
WhiteAcord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Somewhere in, Ga
Posts: 88
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to WhiteAcord
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition?????????????? (Accord-Guy)

Custom is the only way to go especially since there is no kit for th 6th gen V6... but i would consider upgrading the tranny to a Dr. evil one or CL Type S 6 Speed... since the auto on the 6th gen sucks left nuts..
WhiteAcord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 02:38 PM   #5
Loco-B
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Loco-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 2,753
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition?????????????? (Accord-Guy)

wouldnt twin turbo make more sense for a v6????
there are two exhuast mani's. that would have to be one hell of an odd looking setup to do a single turbo for a v6.
i think a supercharger would be an easier option.
__________________
2008 Civic SI RR Coupe
Project: 2G DSM Eclipse, 6-Bolt swap, 341hp / 258lbs/tq on 18psi mild street tune.
Loco-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 02:41 PM   #6
Accord-Guy
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Accord-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicagi, IL, USA
Posts: 117
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition?????????????? (WhiteAcord)

The tranny really suck left nutts. Click the image to open in full size. How much of a torque and hp gain would i see if I switched trannies with cl-s? And where would be the best place to look for the tranny?
Accord-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 02:44 PM   #7
Loco-B
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Loco-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 2,753
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition?????????????? (Accord-Guy)

probably wouldnt see any HP gains if you switched trannies.....


Modified by LocOBanAnA at 6:44 PM 5/31/2007
__________________
2008 Civic SI RR Coupe
Project: 2G DSM Eclipse, 6-Bolt swap, 341hp / 258lbs/tq on 18psi mild street tune.
Loco-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 03:02 PM   #8
Accord-Guy
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Accord-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicagi, IL, USA
Posts: 117
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition?????????????? (LocOBanAnA)

Twin turbo would make a lot of sense but I do not think that anyone has done that Click the image to open in full size. On top of twin turbo a supercharger would make it into a flying hell))
Accord-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 03:05 PM   #9
Loco-B
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Loco-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 2,753
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition?????????????? (Accord-Guy)

what do you mean a flying hell? I thought jackson racing made one for the v6......or am i thinking of comptech? or am i thinking of the TL j32a
__________________
2008 Civic SI RR Coupe
Project: 2G DSM Eclipse, 6-Bolt swap, 341hp / 258lbs/tq on 18psi mild street tune.
Loco-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 03:08 PM   #10
Accord-Guy
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Accord-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicagi, IL, USA
Posts: 117
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition?????????????? (LocOBanAnA)

Yeah just 1, I'm just kiddin'. I think it would be very dificult to fit another turbo on the rear manifold, because there is very little space. I changed the headers on mine and it was a bit tricky to put the rear manifold on because the space was really tight.
Accord-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 03:39 PM   #11
JDM_DC4_Fanatic
Honda-Tech Member
1993 Honda Civic
 
JDM_DC4_Fanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Reppin The 905
Posts: 1,260
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition?????????????? (LocOBanAnA)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LocOBanAnA
probably wouldnt see any HP gains if you switched trannies....maybe only trq gains. And those gains would be limited in numbers.......more than likely less than 20ft/lbs. It really depends on the height of the gearing ratios in the cl type s tranny.
you must be on crack! The transmission DOES NOT create any power what so ever.

You can install a single turbo on a V6 motor, it just bolts up after the headers have merged.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Accord-Guy
So if it is possible to install turbo onto accord with automatic tranny, would it function properly and would I have enough boost?
The transmission will not affect your engine upgrade. it makes no diffrence if its automatic or manual. Second, the boost that a turbo will make all depends on the size, and how much air you can flow to the turbine. you can put 30psi if you wanted to, I wouldent recommend it, but if you have the money, anything is possible.

As for your supercharger comment, 40-50HP at the wheels is a huge gain. Thats probably somewhere around 50-70HP at the crank, and overall, maybe a 30-40% increase in power TO THE WHEELS over stock. I dont think you realise how much power that is.
__________________
1993 Milano Red Civic Coupe 5spd swapped
Port and polished Head + IM
9.6:1 CR Building Boost.
JDM_DC4_Fanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2007, 03:45 PM   #12
Loco-B
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Loco-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 2,753
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition?????????????? (JDM_DC4_Fanat

maybe i am on crack.....LOL......i thought about what i posted afterwards.....dont make sense.

corrected
__________________
2008 Civic SI RR Coupe
Project: 2G DSM Eclipse, 6-Bolt swap, 341hp / 258lbs/tq on 18psi mild street tune.
Loco-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 03:27 PM   #13
jeremy2557
Trial User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition??????????????

im a gen 6 owner check this page out http://www.turbo-kits.com/universal_turbo_kits.html you can run this kit im planning to put it in my ex you just need a custom fab on the manifold the supper charger in no way is worth it
jeremy2557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 06:39 PM   #14
Hidenplanvew
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,150
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Is it possible to put turbo on accord V6 with automatic transmition??????????????

umm way to raise a 6 year old thread... I think the owner already figured it out... All those kits would do is kill performance
Hidenplanvew is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
03, 2002, 30, 93, accord, automatic, honda, install, possilble, put, single, turbo, twin, v6, vtec

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:09 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details